This is How You Become an Imam of the Muslims!!

The following passage is from the introduction of Imām al-Nawawī to his juristic masterpiece, al-Majmū’:

It is authentically related from al-Shāfi’ī, may Allāh Most High have mercy on him, that he said, “I wish that the creation could have learned this knowledge without a single word of it being attributed to me.”

And he, may Allāh have mercy on him, said, “I have never disputed anyone in order to overcome him, and whenever I dispute anyone, I love that the truth should become manifest at his hands.”

And he said, “I have never spoken to anyone except that I loved that he should be granted success (tawfīq) and uprightness (sadād), that he should be aided, and that he should be in the care and protection of Allāh.”

5 responses to “This is How You Become an Imam of the Muslims!!

  1. indeed! masha-Allah

  2. Assalaamu Alaykum.

    Brother, I am not much knowlegeable in this field so if you can please provide the reference to these sayings then I can translate them better in my language, urdu. Where I live, there are mostly hanafi people and you dont want to know what they have in their hearts for people who follow Quraan and Hadeeth instead of following an imaam.

    Jazaakallaah.

  3. I think I missed the reference above. I was expecting the reference to be at the end. Hehehe! Anyways, Jazakallaah.

  4. chaka abdulkhaleq

    How should i go about finding a person who can teach me Hadith in arabic and the language as well.My goal is to become an Imam for my community where Islam is desperately needed.

  5. Can you please explain how one can become a IMAM in Islam? I’m doing this research paper about Islam, and I would love to know how one can become a Imam. For example, what education one must have, what school they must attend, how long, and so on.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

